Airshow Season 2017

2016 has been a busy year regarding all the airshows I could visit. It started in January with the legendary Cable Airshow near Los Angeles, CA. You could see everything from warbird formation- and solo-displays to acrobatic skydivers. A very nice atmosphere on the family owned airport!
 
In summer, I thought I would not go to Berlin for the first time since 2008 to see the biggest German aviation fair. The ILA Berlin Airshow got smaller and smaller over the last couple of years and it somehow became boring. Since the weather forecast was awesome this year, I changed my mind on short notice and did not regret my visit.
 
Less than four weeks later, I spent a busy weekend in the UK. Planespotting in Heathrow on friday, Flying Legends of Duxford Airshow und saturday, Royal International Air Tattoo on sunday, Farnborough Airshow on monday and finally another day of planespotting in LHR. What an awesome trip that was! Great airshows with a little bit if everything for an aviators heart, such as mine.
 
In the end of 2016 the events I visited were a little bit sad. First I took part on the Bo105 flyout in my hometown Celle (ETHC) with the last flying display of a beautiful helicopter which is capable of great aerobatics. 
 
On October 29th, I was passenger on board LH153 or "Bobby One", the very last passenger flight of a Lufthansa 737 after 49 years of service with the airline (video will follow soon). A very emotional event for everybody. Bye bye bobby!
 
So all in all a busy year with great memories of airplanes and people I met, thanks for that! What are your airshow plans for 2017? I was already thinking of oshkosh for the first time... Have you ever been there? 
 
Happy landings
 
Sebastian

find some photos below or visit the photo section for more